Friday, July 6, 2012

Hanoi Ancient House at 87 Ma May Street

Hanoi Ancient House at 87 Ma May
Hanoi Ancient House at 87 Ma May Street

Location and History


Located within Hanoi Old Quarter, the ancient house at 87 Ma May street which was built at the late of the 20th century, is quite intact with typical architecture of ancient houses.
The house consists of two main blocks linked together by a square yard in the middle on the ground floor, and a small balcony on the 1st floor. The yard is included at the centre of the building to moderate the air, provide the house with sunlight and cool winds. The balcony above is an ideal place to put small plants, flower pots for the owner’s interest and relaxation.
The room on the ground floor which is street- front is used for selling goods, and the room on the next floor is living room to host the guests and worship the ancestor also. The room which is behind and linked to the living room by a balcony is bed room. On the ground floor, all behind space is for production activities, then kitchen and bathroom.
All of the walls in this house were painted with typical yellow color like other ancient Hanoi houses, and all furniture, decoration items are reserved in good condition. Though being restored in 1999, this house still remains real and ancient beauty of itself.
Today, the ancient house is open for tourists to come here and see how ancient Hanoian lived, enjoy as well as buy some Vietnamese traditional decoration items, souvenir.

How to get there


The ancient house sits at 87 Ma May street, a popular street in Hanoi Old Quarter. You can easily walk there for less than 10 minutes from Hoan Kiem lake.

Read More…

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Hoa Lo Prison In Hanoi

Hoa Lo Prison In Hanoi
Hoa Lo Prison In Hanoi
The Hoa Lo Prison (Vietnamese: Hoa Lo, commonly translated as "fiery furnace", actually means "stove". The name originated from the street name "Pho Hoa Lo" due to the concentration of stores selling wood stoves and coal-fire stoves along the street from pre-colonial times)

Hoa Lo Prison Hanoi

Later known to American prisoners of war as the Hanoi Hilton, was a prison used by the French colonists in Vietnam for political prisoners and later by North Vietnam for prisoners of war during the Vietnam War. The prison was built in Hanoi by the French in 1901, when Vietnam was still part of French Indochina to hold Vietnamese prisoners, particularly political prisoners agitating for independence who were often subject to torture and execution. The French called the prison Maison Centrale - a usual term to denote prisons in France.

U.S. POWs endured conditions that were miserable, and were fed food so bad that the prison was sarcastically nicknamed the "Hanoi Hilton," in reference to the well-known Hilton Hotel chain.

The Hanoi Hilton was merely one site used by the North Vietnamese Army to torture and interrogate captured servicemen, mostly American pilots shot down during bombing raids. Communist propagandists countered by stating that prisoners were treated with decency and that the prison was no worse than prisons for POWs and political prisoners in South Vietnam such as the one on Con Son Island.
Hoa Lo Prison Hanoi
When prisoners of war began to be released from this and other North Vietnamese prisons in the late 1960s and early 1970s, their testimonies revealed widespread and systematic abuse of prisoners of war. Initially this information was suppressed by American authorities for fear that conditions might worsen for the those remaining in North Vietnamese custody.

After the Paris Peace Accords implementation, neither the United States nor its allies ever formally charged North Vietnam with the war crimes revealed to have been committed there. Extradition of North Vietnamese officials who had violated the Geneva Convention was not a condition of the U.S. withdrawal and ultimate abandonment of the South Vietnam government. The present government of Vietnam firmly holds to the view that the Hanoi Hilton was a prison for criminals, not POWs, and that those held in the Hanoi Hilton were "pirates" and "bandits" who had attacked Vietnam without authority.

Vice Presidential candidate James Stockdale and decorated U.S. Air Force pilot Bud Day were held as a prisoners at the Hanoi Hilton, as was Senator John McCain, who spent parts of his five and a half years as a POW there. Actress Jane Fonda visited the Hanoi Hilton as part of an anti-war publicity trip. Brigadier General Robbie Risner was the senior ranking POW, responsible for maintaining chain of command among his fellow prisoners, from 1965 to 1973. He wrote the book Passing of the Night detailing his 7 years at the Hanoi Hilton. Air Force colonel and record-setting parachutist Joseph Kittinger spent 11 months in prison there.

The Hanoi Hilton was depicted in the eponymous 1987 Hollywood movie The Hanoi Hilton.
Hanoi Tower, built on the site of the infamous prison "Hanoi Hilton"; the entrance to the remaining parts of the prison visible in the foreground.

John McCain's flight suit and parachute, on display in the museum part of the Hoa Lo site. Only part of the prison exists today as a museum. Most of it was demolished during the construction of a high rise that now occupies most of the site. The interrogation room where many newly captured Americans were questioned (notorious among former prisoners as the "blue room") is now made up to look like a very comfortable, if Spartan, barracks-style room. Displays in the room claim that Americans were treated well and not harmed (and even cite the nickname "Hanoi Hilton" as proof that inmates found the accommodations comparable to a hotel's). Former prisoners' published memoirs and oral histories broadcast on C-SPAN identify the room (and other nearby locales) as the site of numerous acts of torture. Murder, beatings, broken bones, teeth and eardrums, dislocated limbs, starvation, serving of food contaminated with human and animal feces and medical neglect of infections and tropical disease are matter-of-fact details revealed in famous accounts by McCain, Denton, Alvarez, Day, Risner, Stockdale, Johnson and dozens of others.

There is now a Hilton Hotel in Hanoi, called the Hilton Hanoi Opera Hotel, which opened in 1999. It was built decades after the Vietnam War was over, but Hilton carefully avoided reusing the dreaded name Hanoi Hilton.
Read More…

One Pillar Pagoda in Hanoi

 One Pillar Pagoda in Hanoi
 One Pillar Pagoda in Hanoi
One Pillar Pagoda is on Chua Mot Cot Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi. The One Pillar Pagoda is a cultural and historic relic, unique for its architectural features.

 One Pillar Pagoda


The pagoda was first built in 1049 under the Ly Dynasty, on the west side of the ancient Thang Long Capital. Its original name was Dien Huu, expressing the wish for longevity for the second King Ly. The pagoda is built in the shape of a lotus blooming on its stem.
 One Pillar Pagoda
The pagoda was built after the description of a dream of King Ly Thai Tong who reigned between 1028 and 1054, in which Bodhisattva Avalokitesvara, the Goddess of Mercy, led him to a lotus flower.

The actual One Pillar Pagoda is the miniature reconstruction of a large, ancient, royal Buddhist building. The pagoda is open daily from 8am to 5pm.
Read More…

Ly Quoc Su Pagoda in Hanoi

Ly Quoc Su Pagoda in Hanoi
Ly Quoc Su Pagoda in Hanoi
Ly Quoc Su Pagoda is at 50 Ly Quoc Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi. Ly Quoc Su Pagoda worships a Buddhist Monk of the Ly Dynasty (the 10th - 12th centuries).

Ly Quoc Su Pagoda

This Monk, whose full name was Nguyen Chi Thanh, was born on 1066 in Dien Xa Village, Gia Vien District in Ninh Binh Province in the reign of King Ly Thanh Tong.

In 1077, at the age of 11, Nguyen Chi Thanh began practicing for the Buddhist monkhood and was taught by Tu Dao Hanh, a well-known monk. As the legend says, Monk Tu Dao Hanh was erudite in Buddhism and excellent in healing. He admired and respected Nguyen Chi Thanh's talent and virtue. In 1138, in his seventies, Monk Nguyen Chi Thanh cured King Ly Than Tong of a disease that many famous doctors had failed to do. For his respectful virtue and talent, he was given the title Ly Quoc Su by the King, which meant Great Monk and Merit Teacher of the nation.
Ly Quoc Su Pagoda

The King provided Ly Quoc Su with a serene residential quarter, which was situated next to Bao Thien Pagoda in the centre of Thang Long Capital, on a side of Luc Thuy Lake (Hoan Kiem Lake of today). This pagoda had a 12-storey tower. Apart from preaching Buddhist sutra for the monks and nuns, Ly Quoc Su taught medicine, prescription of medicines and demotic scripts to many people in the temple and surrounding areas. Skilled in bronze casting, Ly Quoc Su also trained many bronze casting craftsmen.

That is why when he died at the age of 75 at Giao Thuy Pagoda in Nam Dinh in 1141, King Ly Anh Tong (holding power from 1138 to 1175) had a temple erected right on the ground of the residential quarter where Ly Quoc Su had lived. Throughout the country there are many pagodas worshipping both Buddha and Ly Quoc Su, who is considered the Saint of the bronze casting craft, such as Giao Thuy Pagoda in Nam Dinh and Keo Pagoda in Thai Binh.

Ly Quoc Su Pagoda was rehabilitated and redecorated many times with the biggest restoration being made in 1954. The cultural and historical treasure of this temple still remains Ly Quoc Su's statue, Buddha statues and statues of Monk Tu Dao Hanh and his mother and Monk Giac Hai. There is also the precious bell of Tu Chung, cast in the 19th century and a stone stele with inscriptions made in 1855 by Le Dinh Duyen, a famous man. The name of Ly Quoc Su was given to a 244 metre-long street running from Hang Bong to Nha Tho streets. 
Read More…

Kim Lien Pagoda in Hanoi

Kim Lien Pagoda in Hanoi
Kim Lien Pagoda in Hanoi
Kim Lien Pagoda is located in Quang An Village, Tay Ho District, Hanoi. Kim Lien Pagoda was originally built on Nghi Tam Peninsula, on the bank of West Lake. The pagoda was part of the former Tu Hoa Palace of the Ly Dynasty.

Kim Lien Pagoda Hanoi

Princess Tu Hoa is daughter of King Ly Than Tong. He ordered to built Tu Hoa Palace then sent his daughter and her imperial maids to this area to help them understand and venerate their position in the society.
Kim Lien Pagoda
Formerly, it was Dong Long Pagoda and built in the 13th century. In 1771, the pagoda was renovated and changed its name to Kim Lien, which has been used since then.

Kim Lien is composed of three pavilions, each of which has 2 roof layers and the appearance of being slightly curved and supple. Apart from its nice disposition, the pagoda has a gate of sophisticated and intricate architecture. 
Read More…

Hanoi Flag Tower

Hanoi Flag Tower
Hanoi Flag Tower
Flag Tower is on Dien Bien Phu Street, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi; near Ba Dinh Square. Hanoi Flag Tower, also called Cot Co, is one of the rare architectural works in Hanoi that was fortunate enough to not be destroyed by the French administration between 1894 and 1897.

Flag Tower in Hanoi

It was used by French troops as an observation tower and communication station between command headquarters and adjacent military posts.
Hanoi Flag Tower Vietnam
It was built in 1812 and is composed of three platforms and a tower. The words Nghenh Huc, meaning "to welcome dawn's sunlight," are inscribed on the eastern door. The western door bears the two words Hoi Quang, meaning "to reflect light," and the southern door, Huong Minh, meaning "directed to the sunlight."

The tower receives sunlight through 36 flower-shaped and six fan-shaped windows.
Read More…

Hanoi Cathedral Church

Hanoi Cathedral Church
Hanoi Cathedral Church
Hanoi Cathedral on Nha Tho Street, Hang Trong Precinct, Hoan Kiem District was built on .the foundation of the Bao Thien, which was constructed in 1056.

Cathedral Church in Hanoi

In the past, this area belonged to Tu Thap Village, Tien Tuc Canton, Tho Xuong District, Thang Long. Before the Giap Tuat Peace Treaty in 1874, almost Catholic cathedrals in Vietnam were made roughly from natural materials. Hanoi Cathedral mainly constructed from wood in 1884 by the bishop Puginier and inaugurated at Christmas.
Hanoi Cathedral Church 1
In 1886, it was first named St. Joseph. It imitated the design of Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris with a 17 meter high dome and two lissome decorated 22-meter high bell towers. Hanoi Cathedral is famous for the French stained glass windows with high artistic value and durability.

The inauguration of this biggest Catholic cathedral encouraged the great constructions of the French in Hanoi. However, this neo-Gothic cathedral is still under the influence of Vietnamese architecture with high foundation, a statue placed in the front resembles a screen, elaborate decoration patterns and sacred objects insides. Since 1886, Hanoi Cathedral has become the main cathedral of diocese. Annually, the celebration in Hanoi Cathedral is held in March 19th. The unforgettable sounds of the clock and bell in Hanoi Cathedral were immortalized in the famous Hanoi songs and novels.
Read More…

Co Loa Historical Site in Hanoi

Co Loa Historical Site
Co Loa Historical Site
This relic of an ancient urban area and military citadel is located in Co Loa Village, Dong Anh District, Hanoi.

Co Loa Historical Site


Throughout history, Co Loa was nominated twice as the capital of Vietnam: the first time during the An Duong Vuong era in the late 3rd and early 2nd century BC, and the second time during the Ngo Vuong Quyen reign in the middle of the 10th century.
Co Loa Historical Site in Hanoi
The three ramparts archeological relics from the Bronze and Iron ages are 16km long. The complex of religious and commemorative relics includes Ngu Trieu Di Qui Communal House, My Chau Temple, and Bao Son Pagoda. Mystical relics such as Ngoc Well, Flag Tower, and Ngu Xa Castle make of this area a culturally and historically interesting area.
Read More…

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology
Vietnam Museum of Ethnology
Vietnam Museum of Ethnology is both a research centre and a public museum exhibiting the ethnic groups of Vietnam.

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology in Hanoi

The mission of the Museum is scientific research, collection, documentation, conservation, exhibition and preserving the cultural and historic patrimony of the nation’s different ethnic groups. The museum also serves to guide research, conservation, and technology that are specific to the work of an ethnographic museum. In its planning for the future, the Museum intends to present the cultures and civilisations of other countries of South-East Asia as well as in the region.

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology Establishment

Vietnam Museum of Ethnology in Hanoi
Vietnam is a multi-ethnic country, which is composed of 54 ethnic groups. Perceiving the importance of having an ethnographic museum to preserve and present the cultural heritages of ethnic groups, the Government decided to establish a museum of ethnology in Hanoi. The Proposal for the Vietnam Museum of Ethnology was officially approved on December 14, 1987. Land was allocated for construction: in 1987, 2,500m2 and in 1988, 9,500m2. Then, in 1990, the Prime Minister decided to allocate the entire 3,27 acres of land to the Museum.

During construction (1987 to 1995), the Project Managing Board and the Museum Department were a part of the Institute of Ethnology. On October 24, 1995, the Prime Minister made the decision on establishment of the Vietnam Museum of Ethnology, under National Centre for Social Sciences and Humanities. On November 12, 1997, the Vietnam Museum of Ethnology inaugurated its permanent exhibition and officially opened to the public.

The Museum is located in a large open area on Nguyen Van Huyen Street, Cau Giay District, about 8 km from the city centre. This area used to be paddy field of the local people. During the construction of the Museum, all of the infrastructure was built, including the 700m road from Hoang Quoc Viet Street to the entrance of the Museum. (In the near future, this road will reach the Daewoo Hotel, which is situated between Cau Giay and Lieu Giai Streets)

The Vietnamese Government first invested in the Museum in 1986 and construction of the foundation began in late 1989. According to the proposal, the total budget for construction was 27 billion of Vietnamese dong (US$ 1.9 million), not including 4 billion dong (US$ 285,000) for collecting and exhibiting the artefacts.
The exhibition building of the Museum was designed by the architect Ha Duc Linh, a Tay minority, who works for the Living Houses and Public Works Building Company, Ministry of Construction. The interior architecture was done by Mrs. Veronique Dollfus, a French architect.

The Museum is divided into two parts: an indoor and an outdoor exhibition. The indoor part is composed of the exhibition building, office, research centre, library, storage, technical lab and auditorium. These offices cover 2,480m2, including 750 m2 for storage of artefacts. The outdoor exhibition, which will be accomplished in the first years of the 21st century, is to highlight different types of houses in all parts of Vietnam. Pathways link the indoor and outdoor exhibitions with each other. Since its inauguration on the occasion of the 7th Summit of Francophony in Hanoi, give date the Museum receives about 60,000 visitors annually.

What is new at the Vietnam Museum of Ethnology?


The Vietnam Museum of Ethnology is a valuable centre for the exhibition and the preservation of cultural heritages of the 54 ethnic groups in Vietnam. To date, the Museum has collected 15,000 artefacts, 2,190 slides, 42,000 photographs, 237 audiotapes, 373 videotapes and 25 CD-ROMs. It is also a centre for ethnographic research employing many experts on the different ethnic groups. People come to the Museum just not to visit or entertain, but also to learn about these ethnic groups, their cultural diversity and the uniqueness of each group and region, as well as traditional values throughout the Vietnamese country. For this reason, national and international visitors, children and students, professionals and non-professionals are attracted to the Museum.

The artifacts of the Museum are not only priceless antiquities, but many are everyday objects, such as knives, baskets, garments, flutes, pipes and mats. These objects reflect tangible and intangible cultural heritages of the communities, representing lives and creative activities of the people. Thus, artifacts of the Museum are so varied that they are organized into different collections. The Museum has 54 collections of each individual ethnic group. Functionally classified, there are collections of clothing, jeweler, of agricultural tools, fishing instruments, weapons, household utensils and musical instruments. In addition, there are collections of artifacts related to the various religions, beliefs, wedding ceremonies, funeral ceremonies and other social and spiritual activities. Based on the specific collections, the Museum organizes exhibitions and publishes books and catalogues in different formats in order to meet the needs of various audiences of different backgrounds.

The two-floor building, which is inspired by the Vietnamese famous and ancient bronze drum, holds the permanent collection. A granite bridge leads from the main gate to the entrance of the exhibition, creating a feeling of going up to a house-on-stilts which is very popular in many areas of Vietnam. On entering the Museum, the granite floor is decorated with dark tiles arranged in the shape of an S. This decoration symbolizes the shape of the Vietnamese coastline, the earth is in dark color and the ocean is light grey.

The Vietnam Museum of Ethnology has been designed to reflect the country's technical and scientific progress as well as the Museum’s objectives. First of all, the Museum was created for everybody. This is reflected in both the architecture and the display techniques. The Museum has ramps for physically challenged people and an electric elevator allowing access to the second floor. All steps have handrails that are very comfortable for older people. Learning from the experiences of many museums in the world, the museum texts are not in capital letters but small letters so that it is easy for people of different ages to read them. Panels are presented at reasonable heights, for both adults and children. In addition to objects, there are photographs, texts, videos and many reference materials, all of which can be brought into full play to inform visitors with different levels of education and different needs.

The objects are displayed as centerpieces because they reflect the everyday lives of the people. The Museum’s consistent point of view is that the display should be simple, so that visitors can admire the beauty and finesse of each ordinary and simple item. Although there are no illustrative paintings in the Museum, photographs and videos are used to illustrate people’s lives.

A restricted number of 700 objects and 280 photographs are displayed in the Museum’s permanent exhibits, which helps visitors avoid being distracted by an over-representation of artifacts. The different collections are displayed according to language groups and territories. Most of the objects presented in the 97 showcases are original. The showcases have either one-sided windows or four-sided windows, depending on the artifacts presented. For example, some cases present many artifacts; others have only one significant object. Among the showcases in the display, 50 cases are accompanied by texts. Each object has a label denoting its name, the ethnic group and the place where it was created. There are also mannequins, maps, graphs, hardcover books, photographs, videotapes, cassette tapes, models, and 33 section panels. Though the Museum is not large, dioramas highlight certain customs or cultural features of ethnic groups.

Adding to the many layers of information available to visitors, the museum provides hundreds of panels composed of explanations, illustrative photographs and maps. Unfortunately, because of limited space, the texts are condensed. Not only do the texts and the object labels serve a national audience, they are also translated into English and French in order to facilitate international visitors. Thus, visitors experiencing the museum, even without a tour guide, are able to understand the main messages of the displays.

New technical solutions have been used throughout the Museum, such as focused lights. The light radiates inside and outside the glass windows focusing on the most significant aspect of each object in order to set off its beauty and draw visitors’ attention. In addition, a ventilation system has been installed within each display area to protect the objects from mould and decay.

The outdoor exhibition area is only large enough for the most popular architectural styles to be represented. Already presented are the Ede long house, the Tay stilt house, the Yao house half on stilts, half on earth, the Hmong house whose roof is made of pomu wood, the Viet house with tile roof and the Giarai tomb. There are future plans to present the Bahnar communal house, the Cham traditional house and the Hanhi house made with beaten walls. Between the houses, there are trees indigenous to the area of each house, zigzagging paths and a meandering stream crossed by small bridges. The outdoor museum is being realized step by step.
Read More…

Vietnam Women’s Museum in Hanoi

Vietnam Women’s Museum in Hanoi
Vietnam Women’s Museum in Hanoi
Vietnam Women’s Museum is located in the centre of Hanoi on Ly Thuong Kiet St, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi. The Vietnam Women’s Museum covers a 4,500m² area planted with beautiful trees.

Vietnam Women’s Museum

It was open on the 20th October 1995 on the 65th anniversary of the Vietnamese Women’s Association’s establishment.

Documents and objects are displayed and carefully preserved and maintained in this place, expressing the role of women in the process of the development of the Vietnamese nation. The museum is also a place for cultural exchange for Vietnamese and international women with the goal of creating “equality, development, and peace”. The exhibits are displayed on an area of 1,200m² on two-storey building; the museum organized around five main themes:
Vietnam Women’s Museum
- Vietnamese women in Vietnamese community.
- The involvement of Vietnamese women in the fight for national independence and national construction.
- The Vietnamese Women’s Association and its struggle to liberate women.
- The culture of Vietnamese women expresses through traditional handicraft products.
-Women costumes of the 54 Vietnamese ethnic groups.

The museum is open daily except Monday, from 8 am to 4 pm. The entrance fee is 10,000VND. 
Read More…

Monday, July 2, 2012

Tran Quoc Pagoda in Hanoi

Tran Quoc Pagoda in Hanoi
Tran Quoc Pagoda in Hanoi
Tran Quoc Pagoda is located on an islet of West Lake in Hanoi. Tran Quoc Pagoda is one of the oldest pagodas in Vietnam and a cultural symbol of Vietnamese Buddhism.

It is said that, the pagoda was built under the reign of King Ly Nam De (544-548) under its original name of Khai Quoc (National Founder). It was originally built on the bank of the West Lake and the Red River. In the time of King Le Kinh Tong (1600-1618), the pagoda was removed to the Kim Ngu (Golden Fish) Islet due to the river bank crumbling and was renamed Tran Quoc (National Defence).

Tran Quoc Pagoda Hanoi


Behind the worshipping shrine is the Buddhist trinity followed by corridors, ten shrines and the belfry. In the pagoda, there are many valuable statues, such as the red lac­statue trimmed with gold of Sakyamouni Buddha's Parinirvana and many ancient stelae with the old- one made in 1639 by Doctoral Law- Nguyen Xuan Chinh recording the pagoda's history.

In 1959, on his visit to Vietnam, Indian Prime Minister Razendia Prasat offered the Pagoda a bodhi tree as a gift. The plant was grafted from the holy Bodhi tree where Sakyamuni sat in zen (meditation) position 25 centuries ago. Now the Bodhi tree is green and luxuriant, shading part of the pagoda's yard.

As a religious relic among spectacle ­scenery, Tran Quoc Pagoda is a favourite stop-over of many foreign visitors and pilgrims. 
Read More…

Vietnam Revolution Museum in Hanoi

Revolution Museum in Hanoi
Revolution Museum in Hanoi
Revolution Museum is situated at 216 Tran Quang Khai Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi. It established in August 1959, It has been designed into 29 showrooms, containing more than thousands of historical exhibits.

Vietnam Revolution Museum Hanoi

The museum introduces Vietnam-the land and the people from the middle 20th century up to now. The exhibition is divided into:
Visiting hours:
From 8:00 to 11:45 and from
13:30 to 16:15 all days,
festivals, except Mon.
- National liberation movements of the Vietnamese from 1858 to 1945 (from the 1st to the 9th showroom).
- 30 years of struggle against the invaders and protecting the National independence and unifying the country from 1945 to 1975 (from the 10th to the 24th showroom).

Revolution Museum Hanoi

- Developing the economy from 1976 up to now. The collections of Vietnam Economy from 1975 to 2000 are displayed in the room No. 26, No. 27.

- The present collections of the Vietnamese people and of the people in the world offered President Ho Chi Minh and the Vietnam Communist Party (room No. 28 and No. 29).

Especially, the Revolution Museum has a store with thousand of precious objects and documents of the Vietnamese revolution from 1858 up to now.
Read More…

Quan Su Pagoda in Hanoi

Quan Su Pagoda in Hanoi
Quan Su Pagoda in Hanoi
Quan Su Pagoda (or the Ambassadors' Pagoda) is at 73 Quan Su Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi.
Characteristic: Formerly, it was a small Buddhist Pagoda, which had been constructed during the Le Dynasty in the 15th century to receive foreign envoys and ambassadors.

Quan Su Pagoda

Quan Su Pagoda was built on the land of An Tap Village, Tho Xuong District, on the southern gate of Thang Long Capital (Quan Su Street, Hanoi nowadays).
Quan Su Pagoda
In 1934, the pagoda was the headquarter of the Northern Buddhist Association.

Since 1942, the pagoda has been restored and expanded many times with a larger and better architectural structure.

Since 1958, this place has acted as the head office of the Vietnam Buddhist Association.
The pagoda opens daily from 7.30 to 11.30am and 1.30 to 5.30pm. 
Read More…

President Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum
Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum
In Ba Dinh Square, Ba Dinh District, Hanoi.Characteristic: The construction of the Mausoleum started in September 1973, on the foundations of the old rostrum in Ba Dinh Square where president Ho Chi Minh used to chair national meetings.

Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum

Ho Chi Minh's Mausoleum was completed nearly two years later on August 29, 1975.
Engraved on the front of the Mausoleum is Chu Tich Ho Chi Minh, meaning "President Ho Chi Minh". Uncle Ho's dead body dressed in faded khaki clothes and plain rubber shoes was put in a glass coffin.
The Mausoleum is the everlasting rest house of the greatest leader of Vietnam.
Read More…

Pavilion of the constellation of Literature

Literature Temple in Hanoi
Literature Temple in Hanoi
Pavilion of the Constellation of Literature is in Temple Literature on Van Mieu Street, Dong Da District, Hanoi.
Characteristic: Khue Van Cac, or Pavilion of the Constellation of Literature, was built under the Nguyen Dynasty (1802-1945).

The artifacts, collected during the recent excavation drives around Van Mieu (Temple of Literature) in Hanoi proved the architecture of this site belongs to the Ly (1010-1225) and Tran (1225-1400) dynasties.

Constellation of Literature in Hanoi


Life of the students in olden times is reflected through these artifacts and seemed to be simple and pure compared to that of the city dwellers. Van Mieu - Quoc Tu Giam (National College) now preserves 82 steles engraved with the names of 1,306 doctors who obtained the doctoral titles at 82 royal examinations, held from 1442 to 1779.
Literature Temple Hanoi
Although Van Mieu was built long ago, some architectural complexes in this area were erected much later. One of them was Khue Van Cac. In 1802, Gia Long took the throne and built the capital in Hue. In 1805, the Commander of the Northern Citadel, Nguyen Van Thanh, ordered the construction of Khue Van Cac at Van Mieu. This project was carried out at the same time as the erection of the surrounding walls around Van Mieu in 1833.

The pavilion was a two-storey complex made of wood and bricks, which is mirrored on the Thien Quang Well. Located in the third courtyard (from the front gate), the pavilion's ground floor is empty with four brick pillars of 85cm x 85cm engraved with designs of clouds. The pillars stand on a square base, 6.8m x 6.8m, which is covered with Bat Trang bricks. The upper floor, made of wooden frames, stands on four brick pillars, with four round windows facing the four directions and having rays like the sun. This floor is the symbol of the brilliant constellation that is shining. The Oriental people consider this star as a symbol of literature. On this floor, the balustrade is supported by engraved wooden pieces and a gilt board with three letters of Khue Van Cac hanging on the wall.
Read More…

Cu Chi Tunnels in Ho Chi Minh City

Cu Chi Tunnels
Cu Chi Tunnels
Construction of the first tunnels actually started under the French rule and spanned 25 years. The network is extensive, over 200 km of galleries in Cu Chi district alone.

Cu Chi Tunnels in Ho Chi Minh City

Other branches reach as far away as the Cambodian border. The network, built several stories deep, included living quarters, specially designed Dien Bien Phu kitchens' which diffused the smoke so as to be invisible from the skies, a weapons factory, command centers and even field hospitals.
Cu Chi Tunnels 1
Ironically, ignorant of the existence of the tunnels, US military installed a large base camp right on top of the network. It too them months to figure out why, at night, soldiers were being shot right in their tents. The Americans and Australian tried a variety of methods to pacify the area around Cu Chi, at that time known as the Iron Triangle. But neither bombs, napalm, defoliant, hunting dogs, nor tunnel rats were successful in driving Viet Cong guerrillas away. In 1969 the Americans decided to carpet bomb the whole area with B-52s, turning the area into what has been described as 'the most bombed, shelled, gassed, defoliated and devastated area in the history of warfare'. Although they managed this time to destroy most of the tunnel network, along with everything else around, it was too late: the war was ending and the tunnel had been an important component of the Viet Cong victory.
Read More…

Titop Beach in Halong Bay

Titop Beach in Halong Bay
Titop Beach in Halong Bay

Some 14km east of Bai Chay is Titop Beach, which takes the shape of acres cent encamp passing the island. Small though it might be, it wins kudos for its quiet and airy atmosphere, its clean and clear waters, as well as its alluring landscape.

Titop Beach of Halong Bay

Titop Beach in Halong

In 1962, President Ho Chi Minh and the Russian astronaut Germane Titop came to this beach.

Hence its name Titov. At present, there has a bar in the island, which also provides swimming costumes, floats, and lukewarm shower. Fresh water was carried to the island from inland. The Titop Beach has become a popular tourist destination.

Read More…

Bai Chay in Halong Bay

Bai Chay in Halong Bay
Bai Chay in Halong Bay
Bai Chay is a large, beautiful, artificial beach, closed to the coast of Halong Bay The 100m-wide-sandy beach spans over 500m. The asphalt road winds its way through the white sandy beach and luxuriant casuarinas.

Bai Chay Beach in Halong Bay

Bai Chay in Halong
The Bai Chay Tourist Site is fast changing into one of the most captivating of this kind in Halong City. It comprises restaurants, water puppet and traditional music theatres, Hoang Gia Park, water-skiing, and sea motorcycling. The Hoang Gia Park lines along the Halong Road leading from the Bai Chay Tourist Wharf to the gate of the Halong Night Market.

According to one legend, when the fleet carrying food for the Yuan Mongolian Invaders led by Truong Van Ho came there, the Vietnamese troops and locals under the leadership of Tran Khanh Du set fire to it. The whole fleet was engulfed in fire. Meanwhile, the northeast wind blew hard and further added fuel to it. Fire was so fierce it burned down the forest in the western side of Cua Luc. Hence the name Bai Chay.
Read More…

Quan Lan Beach in Halong Bay

Quan Lan Beach
Quan Lan Beach in Halong Bay
This beach lies at Quan Lan Island in Bai Tu Long Bay, between Minh Chau and Quan Lan communes of Van Don District, 55km away from Halong City. Its pristine beauty features unspoiled environment.

Quan Lan Beach of Halong Bay

Quan Lan Beach in Halong
The deep blue beach has strong waves and white sand, which spans over several kilometers. Tens of meters away from the beach stand the very green wild pines, which further add to its original charm.

The Viet My Company is investing in a system of guesthouses taking the shape of stilted houses, which hide themselves under the lush foliage of casuarinas. A brick-paved road leads tourists from the artery to Quan Lan Beach. Its pristine beauty and pure environment have made it a Mecca for tourists.
Read More…

Cat Ba Island near by Halong Bay

Cat Ba Island
Cat Ba Island of Halong Bay
Cat Ba Island is situated in Cat Hai District, Haiphong City. Cat Ba Island is a tourist spot, attractive for its natural beauty and wonders endowed by nature.

Cat Ba Island - Hai Phong Province

Taking a ride on a car or train for two hours from Hanoi to Haiphong, then on a high-speed vessel for another hour, visitors will arrive at Cat Ba Island, the biggest island (100km�) out of the 366 islands on the Lan Ha Bay.

Right from the moment visitors set foot on Cat Ba gangway, looking afar to contemplate the enchanting scenery of immense sky and magnificent mountains and breathing the fresh air from the sea, visitors will feel comfortable and their tiredness after a long trip will disappear. Surely, visitors want to go on with their journey at once.
Cat Ba Island - Hai Phong


If Visitors should hire a Minsk motorbike, out of 400 motorbikes and cars here, to ride to any place visitors want to visit. First of all, visitors should rent a room in a hotel, because the hotels on this island are often overcrowded due to the ever-increasing number of visitors to Cat Ba Island, although more hotels and hostels are being built. It is very pleasant to stay in a hotel, whose back leans against the mountain and its face looks towards the sea, and enjoy the fresh air and beautiful scenery around.

Visiting the large beaches of Cat Co and Cat Dua, which are separated by a small range of mountain, visitors can swim in the blue and warm water, so clear that visitors can see the golden sand beneath.

visitors do not want to swim at this crowded place, visitors can hire a motor boat to sail to the small islets, where there are calm and clean beaches, such as the Cat Trai Gai, Duong Gianh and Hien Hao. The mountain adjacent to Cat Co Beach has a tunnel and fascinating caves and grottoes, such as Hang Luon, Khe Sau, Trung Trang, Gia Luan and Kim Cuong. Visiting these caves and grottoes you will get the feeling of the explorers, discovering the wonders and mysteries endowed by nature.

Coming out of the caves and grottoes visitors should spend a little time to contemplate the sunset over Lan Ha Bay. On the golden background of the horizon and the dark blue of the sea, the heaving islets become multiform, the white sea-gulls hover and sea-eagles make circles in the sky, all beautifying the immense and fascinating space, and enchanting the visitors.

Read More…